July 2004

Vol. II, Issue 7


2004 Wayne State University School of Medicine CommencementMore than 250 WSU School of Medicine graduates took part in the June 8 commencement ceremony at the Detroit Opera House. Howard C. Birndorf, CEO and co-founder of Nanogen Inc., received an honorary Doctor of Science at the graduation, and two WSU faculty members received Distinguished Service Awards.

Birndorf is a Michigan native who received his master's degree in biochemistry from Wayne State University. The New York Times called him "Biotech’s Johnny Appleseed," and he has earned international recognition for his trailblazing abilities in the diagnostics field. Continued...

Comment on this story


Mark Juzych, M.D., MHSASchool of Medicine Dean John D. Crissman, M.D., and Detroit Medical Center (DMC) President Mike Duggan have appointed Mark Juzych, M.D., MHSA, (SOM '89) to head the WSU/DMC residency training program. Dr. Juzych has been named WSU assistant dean of Graduate Medical Education and DMC vice president for academic affairs. He will be responsible for coordinating one of the country’s largest residency programs. It has more than 900 physicians-in-training in 40 medical disciplines. Dr. Juzych is currently WSU associate professor and vice chair of ophthalmology at WSU's Kresge Eye Institute. Read here for more about his appointment and professional career.

Comment on this story


Congratulations to several WSU School of Medicine doctors who recently received national and international recognition:

  • Bernard Gonik, M.D.Bernard Gonik, M.D., professor of obstetrics and gynecology, addressed the Centers for Disease Control's 38th National Immunization Conference on May 12 in Nashville, Tenn. Dr. Gonik spoke on "Adult Immunization: Influenza Vaccination of Pregnant Women."
  • K.M. Rahman, Ph.D., a research associate in the WSU Department of Pathology, has received funding from the U.S. Department of Defense Breast Cancer Research Program. Dr. Rahman’s proposal, "The Role of SDF-1-alpha and CXCR4 in Metastatic Breast Cancer," was among 159 recommended for funding. A total of 1,290 applications were received.
  • E. Mark Haacke, Ph.D.E. Mark Haacke, Ph.D., professor of radiology and director of the magnetic resonance research facility at Harper University Hospital, has been awarded a Gold Medal from the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine. The honor is given to members of the society who have made a significant contribution to research in magnetic resonance techniques in medicine, biology and related fields. Dr. Haacke received the award at the society's 12th Scientific Meeting and Exhibition in Japan.
  • Shahm Martini, M.D., MPH, a WSU fourth-year resident in psychiatry, is the recipient of the 2004 Dean R. Asselin, M.D. Prize in Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurosciences. Dr. Martini was selected based on his scientific paper, "Burnout Comparison Among Residents in Different Medical Specialties," which was presented at the American Psychiatric Association's Institute on Psychiatric Services Annual Meeting in Boston. The paper also has been presented at the WSU Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurosciences Grand Rounds, and it has been accepted for publication in Academic Psychiatry. The Asselin Prize was established by Dr. Dean Asselin to inspire residents in psychiatry, as well as medical and graduate students who are conducting studies in the department, to present their work at scientific meetings and to publish them in scholarly journals. As this year’s winner, Dr. Martini received $2,500 and a certificate.

Comment on this story


The WSU Medical Alumni Association hosted its 12th annual Freedom Festival Fireworks Spectacular and Pool Party on June 23 at Detroit's Hotel Pontchartrain. Everyone enjoyed a delicious barbecue dinner and swimming in the terrace pool. There was lots of fun and entertainment for both adults and kids. Click here to see photos from the event.

Comment on this story


We hope to see you at some of our upcoming alumni events and meetings. Here's the latest schedule:


  • Alumni Table at Welcome Day
    August 7 • Scott Hall • Detroit, Mich.
  • Alumni Department of Urology Reception
    September • Location To Be Determined
  • Mini Med School: An Exploration of Health Sciences
    September 7, 14, 21, 28 • Detroit, Mich.
  • Second Annual "Future Docs" Event
    September 11 • Scott Hall • Detroit, Mich.
  • Alumni Department of Otolaryngology Reception
    September 19-22 • New York, N.Y.
  • Alumni Department of Internal Medicine Reception
    September 30 – October 3 • Grand Traverse Resort • Acme, Mich.
  • Alumni Department of Radiation Oncology Reception
    October 3-7 • Atlanta, Ga.
  • Annual Alumni Kick Off Reception
    October 6 • Location To Be Determined
  • Alumni Annual Telefund
    October-November • Scott Hall • Detroit, Mich.
  • Motown Historical Museum Alumni Reception
    October-November • Detroit, Mich.
  • Alumni Reception during MSMS Annual Meeting
    November 3 • 5 p.m. • Somerset Inn • Troy, Mich.
  • Alumni Department of Dermatology Reception
    February 18-22, 2005 • New Orleans, La.
  • Alumni Department of Orthopedic Surgery Reception
    February 23-27, 2005 • Washington, D.C.
  • Alumni Department of Neurology Reception
    April 9-16, 2005 • Miami, Fla.
  • Medical Alumni Reunion and Clinic Day
    May 7, 2005 • School of Medicine and Somerset Inn • Detroit and Troy, Mich.


Comment on this story

Support the School of Medicine:
Send your alumni news and comments to Mike Gentile at mgentile@med.wayne.edu.

Know someone who'd like to stay in touch with what's happening at the Wayne State School of Medicine? Click here to forward Wayne State University School of Medicine e-Update to a colleague.

Want to keep in touch with your alma mater? Sign up for Wayne State University School of Medicine e-Update.

Wayne State University publishes this e-newsletter to convey general information about the School of Medicine and its alumni.

The links to other publicly available web sites are provided as a convenience. We make no claims, promises or guarantees about accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information at those sites.

© 2004 Copyright Wayne State University Board of Governors


Wayne State University School of Medicine
101 E. Alexandrine
Detroit, MI 48201

Wayne State University School of Medicine